MCH Appointed to One Minnesota Transition Advisory Board

“From civil rights advocates to business owners to tribal leaders to Greater Minnesota mayors, our team worked intentionally to bring together a diverse group of people to share their expertise as we lay the groundwork for our administration. Together, we will cast a wide net across the state to ensure we truly run state government as One Minnesota.” – Lieutenant Governor-elect, Peggy Flanagan

Statewide — Lieutenant Governor-elect Peggy Flanagan announced the Minnesotans who will serve on the One Minnesota Transition Advisory Board. Last week, Governor-elect Tim Walz announced that the Lieutenant Governor-elect would lead a board consisting of voices from across the state to provide counsel and advice for their transition. With members from Duluth, Foley, Mille Lacs, Fergus Falls, Minneapolis, and all across the state, the board includes people of many different racial, geographic, and industry backgrounds. Fortunately, a seat at the table has been pulled out for the housing advocacy community. This is a testament to the Administration’s understanding that where we live impacts everything.

“Every state agency has a role to play in ending homelessness. I’m honored to bring the interests and voices of our coalition to the One Minnesota Advisory Board where we will identify the values, backgrounds and experiences of those best suited to lay the groundwork for the Walz-Flanagan Administration. This bi-partisan team is the campaign promise of One Minnesota in action. Together, our diverse racial, geographic, and industry backgrounds will ensure that everyone has a seat at the table.”  – Senta Leff, Executive Director, Minnesota Coalition for the Homeless

The board will help fill important roles in the Administration, shape the state’s budget priorities for the next year, and provide diverse knowledge and experiences in facing Minnesota’s biggest challenges.

“I’m excited to serve for all of us as we work toward what we know is possible: a Minnesota where everyone has a safe, affordable place to live – and where everyone sees their role in making that a reality,” said Senta Leff.

Members of the Advisory Board include:

  • Abdirahman Kahin, owner of Afro Deli
  • Armando Camacho, President and CEO of Opportunity Partners
  • Ben Schierer, Mayor of Fergus Falls
  • Bharti Wahi, Executive Director of the Children’s Defense Fund-MN
  • Bo-Thao Urabe, Executive and Network Director at the Council on Asian American Leaders
  • Carl Crawford, Human Rights Officer at the City of Duluth
  • Carly Melin, Executive Director of the Minnesota State Building and Construction Trades Council and former State Representative
  • Chief Executive Melanie Benjamin, Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe
  • Dave Durenberger, former U.S. Senator
  • David Nicholson, Executive Director at the Headwaters Foundation for Justice
  • Denise Specht, President of Education Minnesota
  • Eric Sannerud, CEO of Mighty Axe Hops
  • Harold Wolle, past President and current Board member of the Minnesota Corn Growers Association
  • Javier Morrillo, President of SEIU Local 26
  • Jaylani Hussein, Executive Director of CAIR-MN
  • Jeff Ettinger, Chairman of the Hormel Foundation
  • Kathleen Annette, M.D., President and CEO of the Blandin Foundation
  • Marcia Zimmerman, Senior Rabbi at Temple Israel
  • Marvin Roger Anderson, CEO of  Rondo Commemorative Plaza and Chair of Reconnect Rondo
  • Michelle Behr, Chancellor of the University of Minnesota Morris
  • Paul Austin, Executive Director of Conservation Minnesota
  • President Shelley Buck, Prairie Island Indian Community
  • Rassoul Dastmozd, President/CEO of Saint Paul College
  • Senta Leff, Executive Director of the Minnesota Coalition for the Homeless
  • Stella Whitney-West, CEO of North Point Health & Wellness Center
  • Tawanna Black, CEO of the Center for Economic Inclusion
  • Tim Mackey, President of the Laborers District Council
  • Tom McLaughlin, former Legislative Chairman for the Minnesota Veterans of Foreign Wars, a retired Blue Earth County Commissioner, and Marine Combat veteran
  • Tony Sertich, President of the Northland Foundation