Rhonda Otteson

Executive Director

Rhonda Otteson
Executive Director

Rhonda Otteson joins the Minnesota Coalition for the Homeless with the belief that housing is the foundation for success for everyone. Previously, Rhonda was the Executive Director of The Link of Northern Kandiyohi County and spent almost ten years working at Heartland Community Action Agency where she oversaw state and federal housing programs that served people experiencing homelessness. Rhonda has a bachelor’s degree in sociology from St. Cloud State University and a Master of Advocacy & Political Leadership from the University of Minnesota Duluth.  Rhonda lives in Willmar and recently sent both of her daughters to college: one is a Piper and one is a Gopher.


Matt Traynor

Director of Organizing

Matt Traynor
Director of Organizing

Before joining the Minnesota Coalition for the Homeless as our full-time director of organizing, Matt completed his degree in Youth and Family Ministry where he took a position as a Youth Director at a church in Red Wing. During his spare time, he was able to do some organizing around equity issues within the community and fell in love with organizing. From 2012 – 2017, Matt worked as the Community Organizer at CHUM in Duluth. After moving to Duluth Matt connected with others working to end homelessness and has been part of multiple successful organizing campaigns. In 2014 he received the Steve O’Neil Outstanding Organizer Award. Outside of organizing, Matt loves hanging with his family (especially his nephew), friends and spending time doing introverted things like reading, watching movies and going outside during the non-winter months.


Board of Directors

  • MCH Board Leadership

    Board Chair – Andy Pomroy, Fredrikson & Byron

    Vice Chair – Robert DeChellis, Bonsai LLC

    Treasurer – Lucy Zanders, Executive Director, Theresa Living Center

    Secretary – Pam Johnson, Age Well At Home Program, Habitat for Humanity Twin Cities

  • Other MCH Board Members

    Thomas Adams, Commonbond Communities

    Gordon Collins, Senior Director Distribution Sales Enablement, Allianz

    Naima Farah, Program Manager at Propel Nonprofits

    Elena Guerra, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe

    Jessie Hendel, Executive Director, Alliance Housing

    Clara Jung, Macalester College

    Cliff Morse, Mortgage Benefits Program Director, US Bank & previous Board Chair

    Scott Redd, Executive Director, Sabathani Community Center

    Mary Reigert-Soyring, Minnesota Tribal Collaborative to End Homelessness

    Kayla Simon, Minnesota State Community & Technical College

    Erica Valliant, Whole Family Systems Manager at People Serving People, Inc

    Ryan Vernosh, Principal, Roseville Public Schools